2022 RACKS AGM Presentations

Presentations from the RACKS 2022 Annual General Meeting

RACKS Chairman Report

Eastside Greenways Project Presentation

Belfast City Council Local Development Plan

RACKS Strategy 2021-2024

RACKS Membership Subscription form


Minutes of the AGM



10 MAY 2022

Elected representatives in attendance: Andy Allen (MLA)


Dermot O’Kane, Belfast City Council provided an overview of the Belfast Development Plan and Strategy. Once finally adopted, hopefully in autumn 2022, this will replace BMAP and a whole suite of Planning Policy Statements. It will therefore become the primary document for determining planning applications in the city over the next 15 years. Key issues of public interest addressed are projections regarding job and population growth, demography, and infrastructure requirements. It notes that the main opportunities for new housing should be in the city centre and along arterial routes.

Jacqueline O’Hagan, Eastside Partnership, outlined the Eastside Greenways Concept Plan. This proposes connections within East Belfast and to the wider city and beyond. It proposes potential new greenway routes, new linkages and integration with other active travel initiatives. Of particular interest to  RACKS, is a linkage between the Comber Greenway and the Connswater Greenway at Orangefield Park.



Notified apologies:

Elected representatives: Joanne Bunting MLA; Peter McReynolds MLA; Cllr Ross McMullan.

Members: Eileen Logan; Alastair Bell.


The Chair’s Report, including Financial Statement, was adopted.  These will be published on the RACKS’ website.

The RACKS Strategy 2021-2024 was outlined. The focus will be retained on maintaining the character of the area; resisting significant increases in housing density; and protecting the local environment. There will be a drive to increase membership nearer to a third of households in the area, along with greater use of the RACKS website, not least to promote local events. There will be a focus on addressing, particularly with the City Council and the utilities, the graffiti issue that had manifested in the area over recent months.

Funding is currently totally by subscription, which would be kept minimal. Opportunities for Government grants will be pursued.

Current governance arrangements are considered appropriate.


The Election of officers was approved as follows: Chair, Ian Ratcliffe; Hon Treasurer, Iris Nesbitt; Committee Members: Alastair Bell, Aidan Campbell, Peter Barbour, Andrew Wright, Eileen Logan.



Concern was expressed regarding the erratic pattern of waste collection in Kensington Drive that had been evident since February 2022. The Committee will follow up with the Council.

A member proposed that some kind of gardening initiative should be promoted in the area. The Committee will consider.